The simplest vegan pumpkin scones that are made quickly in the food processor, only require 11 ingredients, and are topped with the best pumpkin maple glaze. They're perfectly flaky, moist and the best thing to pair with morning coffee.
To a large cup food processor (I use a 14-cup food processor), add the all purpose flour, whole wheat flour, organic cane sugar, baking powder, and pumpkin pie spice and pulse to combine.
Next, add in the pumpkin puree, vegan yogurt, vanilla extract and cubed, frozen vegan butter.
Pulse just enough times until a dough forms - do not over mix (see photos in post for reference).
Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface (1-2 tablespoons flour) and gently work dough into an 8" round (see photos for reference). I like to use a rolling pin to prevent the butter from getting too warm from the warmth of your hands.
Once in a round, cut into 8 pieces. Transfer 8 wedges to a parchment lined baking sheet.
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. While oven preheats, stick scones in freezer to make sure butter remains cold.
Once preheated, remove scones from freezer, brush scones lightly with vegan yogurt, and bake for 20-22 minutes, or until edges are golden brown.
While baking, prepare the maple pumpkin glaze by whisking together confectioner's sugar, vegan butter, maple syrup and pumpkin pie spice until smooth. Taste and adjust pumpkin pie spice amount to your preference.
Once golden brown, transfer scones to cooling rack. Once completely cool, drizzle scones with pumpkin maple glaze.
Storage: Store scones at room temperature in an airtight container for 3-5 days.
You must use frozen or at the very least, VERY cold butter. If it is too warm, it will melt into the dough while you are preparing the scones and they will not be as layered or flaky.
I only tested recipe with canned pumpkin puree. I cannot confirm that roasted and pureed pumpkin will work. It may be too wet. If you use roasted and pureed pumpkin and have good results, please let me know.
Organic cane sugar and organic confectioner's sugar is vegan. Nonorganic varieties may not be vegan as they may bleach the color of the sugar with bone char.